DIY Cork Tray

I love seeing things in stores and on websites and finding a way to make them myself for less. When I saw this tray:

I knew I had a challenge to make one for myself. Before I jump headfirst into a craft project I want to test the waters just in case my project turns into a belly flop (notice the water references? haha)

I started with a Goodwill tray (less than a dollar) and a sheet of cork board (just a little more than a dollar).

DSC_0235

Yes the tray is small, and ugly, and a little juvenile but no one will ever know (except those of you reading this blog)

DSC_0236

I started by cutting the cork into strips.

DSC_0238

Then I began the (not as easy as I anticipated) task of weaving the strips.

DSC_0239

When I was done, I cut the cork to size and glued it to the inside of the tray. On a sidenote: my FAVORITE glue for any project is “Beacon’s 3-in-1″. It dries clear, it not too sticky to work with when repositioning your items and it holds nearly every material together!

DSC_0242

And there you have it… a mini-cork tray for just a few dollars! This will be perfect for throwing your loose change and keys into at the end of the day.

DSC_0244
Taylor

About Save a Dime on 9

Save a Dime with 9 is part of WTVM's continuing effort to reach out to the community. Our ConsumerWatch team is constantly digging for deals and information that can help you and your family stretch your dollar. There are lots of other good savings blogs and websites out there, but Save a Dime saves you time and money because we're a one stop shop. Where else can you get free tax advice, tips on couponing and even the scoop on the latest tech gadgets all in one place? The answer...you're here! So let's start our savings journey together. If you have a blog idea for us, send an email to consumerwatch@wtvm.com. Please include a phone number so that we can reach you, if necessary.
This entry was posted in Do It Yourself, Save a Dime on 9 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

