A Major Lifestyle Change

Let me start by saying I love food.  Cooking is the only thing I’ve ever done as far as career choice and it is one of the things I’ve ever stuck with.  However, I have allowed food to control my life.  Because of my weight I have developed diabetes and recently I have begun to feel the effects of the disease.   It is a scary thing when you allow an area of your life to get so out of control that it affects your health.

Recently, I have felt led to become a vegetarian in order to combat this disease and get my health and self-esteem back.


For those of you that know me, you understand just how shocking that statement is.  I am one of the world’s biggest carnivores.   However, I would rather enjoy my life than begin to fall apart at the hands of a nasty disease.  Besides, I am a creative enough chef to develop some really good vegetarian recipes.

I am also going to cut out junk food and sodas. I also am going to walk two miles a day and drink one gallon of water a day.  I am going to do this but I am laying some ground rules down for myself and I am willing to hold myself accountable to you, the reader.

First,  each week I will disclose my numbers (weight, blood sugar reading) along with any struggles I may have had.  Next, I will not take any kind of pill with the exception of a multi-vitamin.  My medication makes me sick and I know I can beat this disease naturally.  Finally, I will allow myself one “cheat” a week so as not to go crazy.  By “cheat” I mean a regular soda or candy bar.

I feel like I am about to enter the unknown but I feel good about it.  I will include a cool recipe each week that will hopefully make vegetarianism a good thing.  I just want to clear any misconceptions by the way.

I am going to become a vegetarian not a vegan.  I love my eggs way too much!!
Wish me well.  This won’t be easy.  God bless, Chef John

By Chef John

About Save a Dime on 9

Save a Dime with 9 is part of WTVM's continuing effort to reach out to the community. Our ConsumerWatch team is constantly digging for deals and information that can help you and your family stretch your dollar. There are lots of other good savings blogs and websites out there, but Save a Dime saves you time and money because we're a one stop shop. Where else can you get free tax advice, tips on couponing and even the scoop on the latest tech gadgets all in one place? The answer...you're here! So let's start our savings journey together. If you have a blog idea for us, send an email to consumerwatch@wtvm.com. Please include a phone number so that we can reach you, if necessary.
This entry was posted in Home & Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Major Lifestyle Change

  1. Pingback: A Major Lifestyle Change | « gyrakabusace

  2. Pingback: Enter to win tickets to Spring Fling! |

Leave a Reply

