So Long Summer

By: Chef John Chapiewski, Russell County High School

With the brutally hot days of summer hopefully behind us now it becomes time to think of fall weather and fall food. At Russell County High School our garden has just started to bear fruit. We tasted the turnip greens Friday and they were just amazing. The best part was the fact that we grew them ourselves.

I sometimes think that is the key to life. We appreciate things more when we do themselves. Lately, my students have been able to do things in the kitchen without me explaining directions to them a thousand times. I don’t know whether or not I like that. I feel like a parent and my child has just gone off to college. On one hand I am proud of them for learning and developing. On the other hand I want to feel needed. When I start getting into the “Woe is Me” mentality I realize that the next group of students is just around the corner and I will soon be slamming my head into the wall as I explain myself a thousand times again!! The circle of teaching continues.

Let me share with you our recipe for the turnip greens: Take 4oz of fat back and dice it up. Render (melt the fat) it over medium heat for 5-7 minutes. Add to it one cup of diced onions and allow to cook for additional 5 minutes. Now add 2# of shredded turnip greens and allow to cook for 25-30 minutes. While the greens cook and wither down add 1 tablespoon of ham base and 1 tablespoon of Dijon mustard. Season with salt and pepper.

Take care and God bless.

Chef John

About Save a Dime on 9

Save a Dime with 9 is part of WTVM's continuing effort to reach out to the community. Our ConsumerWatch team is constantly digging for deals and information that can help you and your family stretch your dollar. There are lots of other good savings blogs and websites out there, but Save a Dime saves you time and money because we're a one stop shop. Where else can you get free tax advice, tips on couponing and even the scoop on the latest tech gadgets all in one place? The answer...you're here! So let's start our savings journey together. If you have a blog idea for us, send an email to consumerwatch@wtvm.com. Please include a phone number so that we can reach you, if necessary.
This entry was posted in Save a Dime on 9. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

